Inter-Parliamentary Assembly

    The Assembly was established in March 1995 by the leaders of Supreme Soviets (parliaments) of the Commonwealth countries as a consultative institution to discuss problems of parliamentary cooperation and develop proposals by the parliaments of the CIS states.
    The Assembly consists of parliamentary delegations of the states -  participants of the CIS.
    The activities of the Assembly are carried out by the Assembly Council which comprises the leaders of the parliamentary delegations.
    The Assembly Secretariat, headed by Secretary-General, was created to ensure the work of the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, its Council and commissions.